Nutrition Info

Welcome to NetNutrition! This online tool can be used as a guide to food choices and nutritional information. The program is easy to use – just follow the instructions below to get started!

    Instructions:
  • Choose a dining location
  • For dining halls, select a day and a meal (Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner)
  • To check the nutrition and ingredients for an item, click on the item name and its nutrition label will appear.
  • To find out the nutritional value of an entire meal:
    1. Check the menu item(s) of your selections.
    2. Use the drop-down box to select the number of portions, then click "Add Items.” (Note: Portion sizes are based on what would be considered to be a standard or typical amount for an item. This may not necessarily be the amount that you ate. So, if a portion is listed as ½ cup, but you estimate that you ate one cup, then select “2” half cups.)
    3. Don't forget to add condiments, beverages, breads, or any other food items you'll need to complete your meal.
    4. After you’ve put a check marks on your item, click “Add Items” at the bottom of the screen – your selected items will appear on the left side of the page under "MyMeal.”
    5. Once all items have been selected, click the “Meal Nutrition” button, underneath “MyMeal,” to view the nutritional composition of your entire meal.

    Screening for Ingredients

    On the nutrition facts label, the common food allergens are listed underneath the ingredients in each item, in addition to other foods some people choose to avoid such as pork, alcohol, and gluten. To filter for an allergen or item you would like to avoid, check those items in the Allergen List, then click "Apply Filters." Any menu items containing those allergens will be removed from the menu. For example, if you checked the allergen box for peanuts, only menu items without peanuts will appear on your list of remaining menu choices.

    Please note: while NetNutrition can provide assistance with food selections, if you have a severe food allergy or intolerance, please consult with a Dining Manager before making a selection. They will be happy to assist you.

    For those avoiding gluten: to filter out items that contain gluten, select gluten and wheat – items with wheat are also marked with gluten, and items that do not contain wheat but contain other sources of gluten such as rye, oats, and malt, will be filtered. The remaining items will be foods which, based on ingredients, do not contain obvious sources of gluten. This does not take into account cross-contamination or “hidden” sources of gluten that may not be obvious on a nutrition label. Note: Recent research has been showing that consumption of oats is generally safe for those with Celiac Disease, but only if the oats are free from any cross contamination. Since most commercial products containing oats are likely to have been cross-contaminated, items containing oats have been labelled with “contains gluten.”

    Preferences

    The preferences section works the opposite of allergens – it will allow you to select a trait and then show only menu items that contain that trait. The traits are Vegetarian and Vegan. For example, if you are looking for all the vegetarian options available, select the “Vegetarian” trait, and the items that remain will only be the items designated vegetarian.

    Definitions

    Vegetarian – these items meet the definition of lacto-ovo vegetarianism, and contain no meat, poultry, fish, or seafood; but eggs and dairy are included. Cheeses containing rennet are included as vegetarian, because according to the Vegetarian Journal, 95% of the cheese produced in the US is now made with non-animal rennet. Items containing gelatin are considered non-vegetarian.

    Vegan – these item contain no animal products or animal byproducts at all, including honey.

    Ingredients for vegan and vegetarian items were assessed using the Vegetarian Journal’s “Guide to Food Ingredients,” and were determined based on provided ingredients

    Allergen and Nutrition Facts Disclaimer

    The University of Buffalo does not guarantee the accuracy of nutrition information; ingredient and nutrition content of foods may vary due to changes in product formulation, recipe substitutions, portion size and other factors. Guests with sever food allergies or other food intolerances should consult with a Dining Manager prior to ordering. Please direct questions/comments to CDS’s Registered Dietitian at carynhuf@buffalo.edu.

    Launch NetNutrition